Why is Immigration Through India Special

travel to india

If you are planning a trip to India, you have many places to choose from. It is one of the largest countries in the world and home to some of the most diverse cultures in the world. Each country in India has something different to offer, making each trip a unique experience. Below are just a few reasons why to travel to India.

The country of India provides travelers with many opportunities for cultural and educational exploration. Do not travel to Unless otherwise advised by the Indian Embassy or Consulate, do not travel to Kashmir (including the northeast Indian state of Jammu & Kashmir), the state of Himachal Pradesh, the state of Uttar Pradesh, Diu, Delhi (unless you are a national tourist), Goa, Agra, Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Mount Abu, Darjeeling, Ooty, Kodaikanal, Kollam, Shimla, Kodaikanal, Bikaner, Puri, Darjeeling, Jim Corbett, etc. due to the possibility of civil unrest and/or terrorism. No medical visa is required for travel to these areas.

Travel To India

A person riding on the back of a truck

No foreign nationals are permitted to enter India without proper authorities’ credentials. There are three authorized immigration, and Border Guard Administration (BIGA) approved checkpoints on the Indian subcontinent: The Delhi airport, Agra international airport, and Mumbai airport. No foreign nationals are permitted to visit India between the months of November to February. No tourists may be employed without a valid passport.

Passengers coming into India from abroad must have their passports or visas in order to travel to India. The authorities in Delhi, Mumbai, and other cities of India will not accept any returned passports. Therefore, a traveler must apply for a visa or permit to travel to India through a licensed tour operator. Tour operators may be hired by passengers who do not possess an India visa or who need assistance with their visa problems.

Travel warnings

A person riding a skateboard up the side of a road

The U.S. State Department issues travel warnings and advisories intended to inform tourists traveling to India about potential security issues that could occur in India. The Indian Ministry of External Affairs (MIA) and the External Affairs Ministry of the United States both issue similar cautions. An important aspect of these warnings is to avoid taking counterfeit or fake Indian currency. A counterfeit currency note is indistinguishable from the genuine item, is usually difficult to spot, and can have a high value.

The Indian authorities have stated that they will not prohibit large gatherings of people. Large gatherings of people are often causing concern in India, particularly in the months before Hindu festivals. Since large gatherings are typical during Ganesh Chaturthi (Pansyday), Durga Puja, Diwali (Dew Festival), and Holi (rosary Festival), authorities will typically prevent such events. The Indian government does not typically prohibit traveling to India during periods when it is affected by a natural disaster.

The authorities take fraud seriously, and all suspicious cases will be investigated promptly. Tourists who intend to travel to India should carry valid passport photos and valid passport validations. The traveler should obtain a copy of his/her passport prior to traveling to India, and touring with invalid passport results in a fine, which could hinder traveling to India. However, in most cases, tourists can continue traveling to India with a valid passport.

Things To Consider

The Indian authorities take fraud very seriously. There are numerous methods that they use to detect cases of passport misuse. Most importantly, tourists traveling to India must submit visa applications in the prescribed format (usually Ink Passport Form V4) prior to embarking on their journey. A copy of the applicant’s latest passport or immunization certificate is required for frequent visitors to India.

Passport applications are normally processed within two to three weeks from the date of application. Tourists wishing to enter India via a gateway through India have the benefit of two additional visa exemption periods, one for citizens of Nepal and Bhutan and another for Indians on non-visitor visas. The duration of the exemption period will vary by visa type – for instance, tourists with a green card and eligible for OGC citizenship benefits will be entitled to stay for a further 180 days after the end of their previous stay. Citizens of Nepal and Bhutan are eligible for the third visa category, that is, those with respect to citizens of India who have obtained leave to enter India and are eligible for immigration relief. These people can stay for a further 180 days after the end of their previous stay.

All travelers are advised to apply for an e-visa before traveling to India. The e-visa is an electronic visa that can be collected at the designated Embassy or consulate of India. Once issued, the holder is free to use it throughout India. The e-visa proves valid at all Indian destinations, except that it does not allow dual citizenship and also does not permit entry into territories of Pakistan and China. Tourists who do not have a visa to India should consult the nearest Indian embassy or consulate for details regarding their eligibility for an e-visa.

Bottom Line

Residing in India is a privilege and not a right. The government treats every visitor as a nation regardless of their nationality or whether they are eligible for immigration status. Those wishing to work in India or have children can remain for two years without a visa, provided they satisfy the government’s requirements. Immigrants are denied entry to the country if they do not have a valid passport or work permit. The authorities examine the necessity for immigration and provide the required documents if necessary.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter